The Story So Far – May 2024

Having dodged the bullet for over four years, May 2024 was the month when I finally caught Covid-19. For about a fortnight I simply didn’t have the enthusiasm or energy to do anything much, including reading, though curiously I did become obsessed with playing Sudoku, to the point that I was actually dreaming about it at one stage.

I read twelve books in May 2024 taking my total for the year so far to fifty six books, though that total is a bit deceptive in that nine of the twelve books were chapbook length (in effect short stories), picked up in an attempt to ease back into the reading habit after a fortnight off the wagon.

None of the newly read made my Top Twenty list, so that’s unchanged from April 2024.

Glass Shatters Fist – James Cooper

Growing Things and Other Stories – Paul Tremblay

The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman

The Good Unknown and Other Ghost Stories – Stephen Volk

The Ravenglass Eye – Tom Fletcher

The London Seance Society – Sarah Penner

The Three – Sarah Lotz

Hyde – Craig Russell

The Supernatural Enhancements – Edgar Cantero

Tower of Silence – Sarah Rayne

I Will Surround You – Conrad Williams

Joyland – Stephen King

Three Moments of an Explosion: Stories – China Miéville

Imposter Syndrome – Edited by James Everington & Dan Howarth

The Other Lives of Miss Emily White – A. J. Elwood

The Lost Village – Neil Spring

Beloved Poison – E. S. Thomson

Dark Asylum – E. S. Thomson

Black Feathers – Edited by Ellen Datlow

Among the Lilies – Daniel Mills

N.B. These rankings are not intended as noting literary merit – only an expression of how much pleasure each of these books gave me. And, of course, the whole process is highly subjective – at any other time my ratings might be entirely different.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment