2015: The Story So Far – Final Quarter

Back in October I did a list of my favourite books for the first three quarters of the year. The year now being well and truly over, I can give a final tally of the books I enjoyed the most over the past twelve months.

I read a total of 146 books in 2015, which was one more than I managed in 2014, with forty seven of them completed in the last quarter (in the month of November I simply selected the shortest books in my TBR pile and whipped through them at the rate of one a day, more or less).

In the order I preferred them when I compiled the list just ten minutes ago (given a different time and mood, the rankings might alter), here are the thirteen books that gave me the most pleasure in 2015, with new entries shown in bold:-

The Bitterwood Bible and Other Recountings – Angela Slatter (Tartarus Press)

The Best Horror of the Year Volume Seven – Edited by Ellen Datlow (Night Shade Books)

Fearful Symmetries – Edited by Ellen Datlow (CZP)

The Death House – Sarah Pinborough (Gollancz)

The Devil’s Detective – Simon Kurt Unsworth (Del Rey)

The Wolf in Winter – John Connolly (Hodder & Stoughton)

A Cold Silence – Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher Books)

The Black Tongue – Marko Hautala (Amazon Crossing)

Gifts for the One Who Comes After – Helen Marshall (CZP)

Ghosters – Ralph Robert Moore (Sentence Publishing)

Of Sorrow and Such – Angela Slatter (Tor)

The Loney – Andrew Michael Hurley (Tartarus Press)

Probably Monsters – Ray Cluley (CZP)

It breaks down as seven novels (though part of me wants to classify Of Sorrow and Such as a novella rather than a short novel), four collections, and two anthologies. Tartarus Press appear twice on the list, and CZP has three listings. Both Angela Slatter and Ellen Datlow get double listings.

I’m too lazy to check publications dates, but quite a few of the titles listed weren’t first published in 2015, so it is a ‘best of Pete’s reading in 2015’ rather than ‘Pete’s best of the year’ (a not too subtle distinction) and, of course, I only read a fraction of what gets published.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2015: The Story So Far – Final Quarter

  1. What a perfect way to start the new year. Thanks, Pete. 🙂

Leave a Reply

