‘Tis the season to be merry

Except I aren’t feeling in the least bit merry, as I’ve now had the lurgy for five days. I’m pulling up the drawbridge at Chez Tennant and keeping myself to myself,  as I don’t want to risk infecting anyone else and simply don’t have the energy to fake jollity or pretend that I’m genuinely interested in the soap operas my sister gets to inflict on me at this time of year in return for a slap up meal.

Next year I’m converting to Buddhism and will give all this nonsense a miss. Instead I’ll sit around eating bean stalks and bamboo shoots.

Or is that pandas?

But my bad mood needn’t affect anyone else, so wishing a very Happy Christmas to whoever is reading this, and to mark the day here’s a little something from Dutch maestro Andre Rieu that’s as sickly and sentimental as a sugar plum fairy dosed up on crack cocaine:-

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘Tis the season to be merry

  1. Merry Christmas, Pete. And good luck with the lurgy (I admit I had to Google it to find out what “lurgy” means.) I’ve learned a new word! Always a good gift.

    • petertennant says:

      Hi Rob. I think lurgy is a predominantly UK term. My Christmas was pretty much crap thanks to the aforesaid lurgy, so will be making a big deal of the New Year by way of over compensating. But hope Mary and you had a great time.

  2. Rolnikov says:

    Merry Christmas, Pete! Hope that by now you’re feeling a bit better.

Leave a Reply

