Extracts From A Teenage Diary Part 5

Today was my birthday and they threw a surprise party. The poison dwarf baked a cake and wrote “To My Darling Daughter” on it in pink icing. They all sang Happy Birthday. I was so angry. I told them they could eat the damned cake themselves, I didn’t want any of it, I’d rather die. The poison dwarf isn’t my mother and she never will be. I hate her and those two fat pigs. They’re her children, not me, and I don’t want anything to do with any of them.

Father told me to go to my room. Later he came up to speak to me, said how disappointed he was, that Amelia (the poison dwarf) had done all she could to befriend me and treat me the same as her own daughters, but I was a resentful and ungrateful child, and my mother would be ashamed of me if she was alive now and could see how I behaved. It’s not fair of him to use mother against me after all he’s done. That’s what pushed me over the edge. I didn’t care what I said any more. I just couldn’t help myself, I had to let it all out or go mad. I told him that if mother had still been alive he wouldn’t need to fuck that fat cow and then we’d all be happy. I was so upset I actually used the f word to my father, something I’ve never done before.

Father went white. I’d never seen him so angry. I thought he was going to hit me, but the poison dwarf had come in while we’d been arguing and pulled him away. For nearly an hour I could hear them shouting downstairs and then she came up to see me alone. She said that she and my father had been childhood sweethearts, long before he met my mother. He’d wanted to marry her, but his family stopped him. She said that Hortense and Eunice were his children, that he’d never loved my mother and only married her because she trapped him by becoming pregnant. She said lots of other nasty, hateful things about my mother but I won’t repeat such lies. I hate her. I wish she was dead.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

