Song(s) for a Sunday – The Tubes

Back in the day, some friends and I were having a conversation about who were the biggest band in the world.

Me: The Tubes are big. There are nine of them.

I used to love The Tubes.

Scathing lyrics, the way they used to send up themselves and everybody else, brilliant stage craft, the controversial baggage that followed them around, the sense of humour and pop kitsch awareness, and all backed up by immaculate musicianship.

I will however spare you “Mondo Bondage/White Punks on Dope” and the sight of Fee in his platform shoes.

No need to thank me.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Song(s) for a Sunday – The Tubes

  1. I was going to say I hadn’t heard of them, but then saw on Wikipedia that they were in one of my favourite films…

  2. Looking them up also led me to discover Gene Kelly’s character in that film was the same one he played in Cover Girl in 1944. My mind has been blown!

  3. petertennant says:

    Ah yes, “Xanadu”, starring the woman I once thought of as Olivia Neutron Bomb, though I have no idea why.

    I’d forgotten The Tubes were in that, if I ever knew it in the first place. Seems a curious career choice for the band.

Leave a Reply

