2013 – The Story So Far

I’m going to repeat this exercise from last year, in which each quarter I produce an ongoing list of my thirteen favourite books from 2013, and yes, I really should have started doing this in early April, but it kind of slipped my mind.

For the months January through March, I read a total of thirty one books, some of which were really, really rather short, and some of which I didn’t actually finish until April even though I began them earlier (this is not an exact science). I also started quite a few others that I didn’t finish, and finished several that I started in 2012.

So, in the order I preferred them when I wrote the list this morning (and, of course, it may be subject to change), here’s my top thirteen books for 2013 so far:-

Abarat: Absolute Midnight – Clive Barker (Harper Voyager)

Whitstable – Stephen Volk (Spectral Press)

It Sustains – Mark Morris (Earthling Publications)

The Late Great Creature – Brock Bower (Overlook Duckworth)

Unhallowed Ground – Daniel Mills (DarkFuse)

House of Rain – Greg F. Gifune (DarkFuse)

Children of No One – Nicole Cushing (DarkFuse)

The House that Death Built – John Llewellyn Probert (Atomic Fez)

Best Horror of the Year Volume Four – Edited by Ellen Datlow (Night Shade Books)

A Season in Carcosa – Edited by Joseph S. Pulver, Sr (Miskatonic Press)

Black Wings II – Edited by S. T. Joshi (PS Publishing)

Long Shadows, Nightmare Light – Mark Morris (PS Publishing)

F9 – Michael McBride (DarkFuse)

Four novels, five novellas, one collection and three anthologies. Four entries from DarkFuse and two from PS Publishing, while Mark Morris is the only individual to appear more than once.

Although they’re included in the count of thirty one, I didn’t take into consideration books that I’ve read previously, which is why Clive Barker’s Weaveworld isn’t on the list, and I’ve also excluded anything published by TTA Press, so no Spin by Nina Allan.

And, of course, nearly all of these titles were first published in 2012, if not earlier, so it is a ‘best of Pete’s reading’ rather than ‘best of the year’.

Check back in a couple of months to see which of these titles remain.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2013 – The Story So Far

  1. David Richards says:

    Nice to have a list of books to check out. Thanks!

  2. Pingback: 2013: The Story So Far – Second Quarter | Trumpetville

Leave a Reply

